French Toast like my mum used to make

When I was a child me and my sisters favorite breakfast of all time was french toast with cornflakes. I know this may sound disgusting-we loved our french toast made really eggy with thin sliced white loaf. We then had cornflakes with warm milk and lots of sugar to make it sweet. We would then have the breakfast of our little lives dipping the eggy french toast into the sweet milky cornflakes and munch away happily.

I used to love drinking café latte in my late teens and early 20’s. With 3 teaspoons of sugar and foamed milk. The sugar got rid of the taste of milk ‘cos I couldn’t stand that but loved the aroma of fresh coffee! What I didn’t realize is that I always felt sick in my stomach for hours afterwards and it was the milk that caused it (when I was young I could be a right dunk-head sometimes:-))

Anyway once I did realize, out went milk forever. Those first few years in my early 20’s I stopped ALL milk products (even though I absolutely loved full fat bio-yoghurt natural or with fruit). Since then I’ve slowly tried out milk products again. I can sometimes eat yoghurt, I love butter and cream-especially extra thick double cream (my sisters will laugh their heads off when they read this). I can spoon away a mid-sized pot of this cream in 2 days. And I know it’s almost 50% fat! Pure heaven! That doesn’t have any negative affects on me other than a bloated stomach and being extremely lethargic.:-) The same goes with butter-delicious organic rustic mixed wheat bread and a 250g butter is gone in 3-4 days. Total pig out or what!!

The affect of me stopping milk products had some very positive affects on my health! I had hay-fever, and was extremely allergic to dust mites. My father would constantly scold me for constantly catching a cold. But it wasn’t a cold I found out later. Anyway, the dust mite allergy went away completely to this day. And the hay fever was also non-existent for many years but did return in a much milder form. I just have to be very careful what I eat during spring time. The following starts my hay fever-sugar, alcohol and overeating so no more thick slabs of butter or pots of cream at least during the hay fever season. This applies to Europe the last few years. Funnily enough since I’m in Asia, I don’t have hay fever at all. I don’t know if it’s different pollen from different plants or the fact that my diet has changed considerably since I’m here. A lot of fresh veggies and fish. And rarely meat. Almost no wheat products because the bread (in Bangladesh) tasted awful!!

I have to mention though that my diet was extreme for some time. I left out a whole range of foods along with the milk products. Literally all processed foods, all normal wheat products (I did eat whole grain and organic wheat and flour products). No white sugar. No eggs, meat or fish. Eventually after about a year  I started eating everything (because food became so boring) again but in moderation except for some milk products. Yoghurt even today, I can only eat a very small amount.

This is just one of my many experiments at dieting. My reasons were health related and about feeling good in my body-nothing to do with weight loss because I’ve always been thin regardless how much or what I eat.

ꉻ      ꉻ      ꉻ

French Toast My Mum’s Style

In the pictures above and below I have some rice and a stick of cinnamon. Originally I made a syrupy sauce with the rice blended with a bit of water, cinammon and the light coloured soft palm sugar to go with the toast. It tasted ok but looked like baby sick on toast so was not really suitable for putting the pictures up. I did then manage to get a dark palm syrup which looked much better and tasted good too.

Ingredients

 1 egg

2 tablespoons organic natural soya milk (or organic cow’s milk)

1 medium sized organic white baguette

salt

sugar

palm sugar syrup or maple syrup or runny honey

vegetable oil

Method

1. Beat the egg (with a fork not your fist:-)) together with the soya milk until it is of one consistency and colour.

2. Add the salt and sugar.

3.Dunk the bread into the egg mixture until completely covered (how long you leave in the mixture depends on how soggy you want it once fried)

3.Heat the oil in a pan then add the toast and fry on each side for about a minute or until it browns

4. Serve with syrup or eat on it’s own as a quick, delicious and filling snack

Categories: About me, Breakfast, Recipes | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “French Toast like my mum used to make

  1. Knit for You

    You are making me hungry!

  2. Resh

    When you get back to London we shall have breakfast together..french toast and cornflakes..lol :O) xx

    loving sis Resh xx

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Natalia Maks

Travel. See. Shoot. Learn.

peacetrailing

weltfrieden, weltfriedensinstallation, ruhe, liebe, frieden, freiheit, mutter erde,

~ Goat Track Photography ~

Ian G. Fraser, Brisbane, Australia

Kulturstudio

Wenn die Macht der Liebe die Liebe zur Macht übersteigt, erst dann wird die Welt endlich wissen, was Frieden heißt.

Whitbits Kitchen

A Multicultural Food Blog

2012 The Awakening

A resource for all souls on the journey toward building a New Earth!!

Mu Sochua: MP & Human Rights Advocate

Prioritizing women’s issues in Cambodia

Brain Study

Learning about the brain, body and how it all connects

Poetry&Words at Glastonbury Festival

The only stage dedicated to poetry at Glastonbury Festival

Diary of a refugee mother

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

thelittleloaf

Homemade Memories

My Food Religion

Pure Unadulterated Food. Food for the body and the soul. Food that makes you feel good from the inside out.

The High Heel Gourmet

Authentic Thai Dishes Reimagined for the American Palate

Good Clean Food

Living Deliciously Well

Homemade with Mess

who wants life to be tidy when you can have more fun making a mess??!

Break Room Stories

Service Industry Stories and More Since 2012

Generation Passport

World Mix Magazine (click title for home)

maggiesonebuttkitchen

Passionate about cooking and baking and love to share.

Dinner of Herbs

Love for healthier foods.

Currydemonology

Curry Coz you can !

A Wondering Minstrel I

I'm wandering from topic to topic and wondering what on earth I am doing.

The IDEA Bucket

Brings you the latest brew

Sufey

Inhale Joy, Exhale Gratitude

LOVE-the secret ingredient

Like to cook? Like to eat? Be a part of the conversation.

The Modern Home Kitchen

Inspiring the Way You Cook

transcendingbordersblog

A TWINKLING STAR- BRINGING A DASH OF HOPE, INSPIRATION AND LOVE IN YOUR EVERY DAY LIFE!

petit4chocolatier

food, writing, life, and other things in-between

Victor Travel Blog

An illustrated travel magazine by Victor Tribunsky.

Tranquil Dreams

寧靜的夢

roughseasinthemed

Living in Gib and Spain

Every picture tells one

Just not another photoblog

DENTIST CHEF

Dentist chef, just a dentistry student who practice the dentist's cooking recipes in a dentist's kitchen

Healing Pilgrim

Stories & images about travel, healing & life

Chilli Marmalade

Adventures inside and outside my kitchen

A Word in Your Ear

Stories and Photographs of my travels, Tales of friends, family, animals and my life

en quête de saveur

a flavor quest

peepsew

I like my artsy with a little bit of fartsy

kizzylee

carpe diem?

Piseth's Diary | Freedom of sharing!

Sharing what I've learned and learning what is shared!

Without an H

Photography from south-east Asia by Jon Sanwell

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

Good Clean Food

Living Deliciously Well

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

frugalfeeding | Low Budget Family Recipes, UK Food Blog

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

the lemurs are hungry

in search of deliciousness from Malaysia to Mexico

