Cambodian Snakehead Fish Soup with Baby Water Melon

This is one of the first Cambodian dishes I’ve  cooked since I’m here. Almost authentic because I made one slight change to the recipe. You may think that I’m living in Cambodia and it’s taken this long to cook Cambodian. Truth is I didn’t have a kitchen for such a long time (16 months to be exact) during this trip that I could only eat local food where ever I was. Sometimes good and sometimes a downright disaster. Anyone who knows me in Europe will know what a pain in the ass I can be when it comes to eating out.  I can easily walk for  2 hours (on an already empty starving stomach) in a ridiculously foul mood because I refuse to pay money (no matter how little) for crap food. Unfortunately for me most food places in Berlin have substandard food quality. Since travelling I had to give up my high and mighty food standards for eating out. I would’ve starved to death. And the food isn’t all fantastic here like I thought. Whether eating out in Bangladesh, Malaysia, Singapore ,  Thailand or here in Cambodia, the good places have to be found (and I usually refuse to pay western prices to eat out in Asia). Amazing from the zillions of hawker stalls and street food available how much is to my liking. Too oily, little taste, tough meat, not spiced well or made with misery. I believe that food absorbs the energy of the cook and kitchen. If the kitchen is filthy in the nooks and crannies, I won’t be eating from that kitchen for long. And miserable cooks make me miserable when I eat their food. The same goes for anger. I don’t need angry cooks feeding me their anger as I have enough of my own to deal with.

The difference is of course if one get’s invited into a family for a meal. In Bangladesh I ate exclusively with my extended family and occasionally here in Cambodia I was lucky enough to eat with a family. Only then does one eat real food made with love that can be tasted and felt. The difference is amazing. This is the reason I cook. To make food with love and passion….and as healthy as possible so I can dance a jig immediately after dinner. This is how I measure the standard of my cooking. Food should taste and feel good during and after eating.

Anyway, since I live in Cambodia I can eat Cambodian dishes everyday (and did so for months on end), so it wasn’t on my priority list for cooking.

Cambodian snake head fish – you get the same fish in Bangladesh. How on Earth they swam the freshwater distance is beyond me…??

Baby water melon…..?

 

And once again the snake head fish and baby water melon (you know I’ve made this name up because that’s what I think it is…??)

 

 

Baby water melons-I picked these up in the market out of curiosity and cooked them as described without really knowing what it is or ever having cooked it before. The seeds look like water melon seeds and the skin looks like a water melon. But they are the size of a beef tomato and taste watery with a very mild sweetness when ate raw. Cooked I found them delicious in this soup and taste wise I would say very similar to a bottle gourd.

ꉻ      ꉻ      ꉻ

Cambodian Snakehead Fish Soup

Ingredients

1 small snake head fish (about  1kg) or any other fish of a similar size cut into 1 inch pieces

2 tomatoes quartered

2 baby water melons peeled and quartered (or bottle gourd or zucchini cut into 1 inch pieces-zucchini doesn’t need to be peeled but bottle gourd does)

1-2 lemongrass stalks only the light colored stem, not the green part-cut into ½ inch pieces crushed

3 shallots or 1 medium sized onion-chopped medium

½ bulb of garlic crushed

1 inch piece o turmeric root crushed (optional-original recipe didn’t have any turmeric)

1 inch piece of ginger root crushed in a mortar & pestle

2 thai chillies

5 lime leaves

1 stalk of sweet Thai basil (leaves plucked-stalk not used)

10 saw leaf herb leaves-cut into ½ inch pieces

1 stalk of fresh coriander chopped small

1 fresh mexican type chilli

1 tablespoon of ripe tamarind

salt

½ teaspoon of palm sugar

vegetable oil (only necessary if using fresh turmeric root to fry in)

fish sauce (1-2 table spoon)

1½ cups of light red jasmine rice and ½ cup of dark red jasmine rice cooked in a rice cooker

Method

1. Fill a saucepan with 1 ½ litres of water and heat on a medium high flame.

2. Fry the turmeric root and garlic in a bit of oil in a frying pan ( this is an extra step I did because of using turmeric root. If you leave out the turmeric, you can skip this step and use the garlic not fried)

3. Put the ginger, shallots, garlic and turmeric, chillies, lemongrass, salt, palm sugar and fish sauce into the saucepan with the water.

4. Put the tamarind in a bowl and soak with hot water. Then squeeze the pulp out and add only the juice into the saucepan discarding the pulp and seeds. Tamarind is very sour so better to put less in and taste and add more if necessary-1 tablespoon of tamarind should be enough.

5. Add the fish into the saucepan. Make sure it is descaled and de-gutted. I let the woman in the market do that for me. Makes my life a lot easier.

6. Add the  baby water melon or bottle gourd at this stage. If using zucchini add later after about 8 minutes because it cooks quicker

7. After about 12 minutes add the tomatoes. You want them still in pieces, not melted in the finished soup.

6. Let boil for about 15-20 minutes until the fish is done. Taste and adjust with salt, fish sauce and more tamarind juice as necessary to your liking. It should taste a little sour but fresh and fish soupy.

7. Take saucepan off the heat and add the saw leaf herb, Thai sweet basil leaves, and chopped coriander.

8. Serve with steamed jasmine rice. I prefer this soup with a mixture wholegrain and light red jasmine rice. You can also use white jasmine rice.

Preparation time: 10 minutes

Cooking time: 20 minutes

Serves: 4 hungry people

ꉻ      ꉻ      ꉻ

Note:

Unfortunately you can’t see the fish in the pictures of the soup. So I might be lying and it’s not in the soup or it’ still alive and swam to the bottom of the bowl….;-)

I don’t know what this dish is called in Cambodian. I watched a friend cook it once and made it from memory. I will find out at some point and then add the name.

My added turmeric made the soup yellow in colour. The original soup was plain see through.

Categories: Cambodia, Fish, Recipes, Soup | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 10 Comments

Post navigation

10 thoughts on “Cambodian Snakehead Fish Soup with Baby Water Melon

  1. Excellent … nice flavorings and good looking too!

  2. The camera you use must be really expensive in order to take such photos that are do clear and look “HD” quality.

    Great photos in every recipe!

    • Thanks! It’s only a compact consumer (panasonic) lumix with a leica lens. I’ll be investing in a DSLR in the near future. I use Lightroom to adjust the photos. Don’t know how to use photoshop yet.

  3. I never really thought about the food picking up the atmosphere of the cook and the kitchen..obviously I have considered the unfortunate possibility of a stray booger or scab, but never an emotion.

    You have made me think!

    I very much appreciate that.

    • Other cooks and workers in restaurants I’ve worked in have an experience of getting sick of the food at some point. Regardless of how good or even organic the food is. I think the owner/manager plays a big role too because they affect the mood of the staff. Only ‘my’ thoughts, feelings and experiences.

  4. I’ll give it a go, we can buy Snakehead here in China 🙂

    • I know this fish from Bangladesh. There they have big ponds for ablution in front of mosques. Some ponds of special famous mosques are filled with big snakeheads and you’re not allowed to eat them because they are apparently souls or spirits of some holy person from the past…??

  5. Interesting, I did not know that about the snakeheads….learn something new each time I visit this blog.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Natalia Maks

Travel. See. Shoot. Learn.

peacetrailing

weltfrieden, weltfriedensinstallation, ruhe, liebe, frieden, freiheit, mutter erde,

Kulturstudio

Wenn die Macht der Liebe die Liebe zur Macht übersteigt, erst dann wird die Welt endlich wissen, was Frieden heißt.

Whitbits Kitchen

A Multicultural Food Blog

2012 The Awakening

A resource for all souls on the journey toward building a New Earth!!

Mu Sochua: MP & Human Rights Advocate

Prioritizing women’s issues in Cambodia

Brain Study

Learning about the brain, body and how it all connects

Poetry&Words at Glastonbury Festival

The only stage dedicated to poetry at Glastonbury Festival

Diary of a refugee mother

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

thelittleloaf

Homemade Memories

My Food Religion

Pure Unadulterated Food. Food for the body and the soul. Food that makes you feel good from the inside out.

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

The High Heel Gourmet

Authentic Thai Dishes Reimagined for the American Palate

Good Clean Food

Living Deliciously Well

Homemade with Mess

who wants life to be tidy when you can have more fun making a mess??!

Break Room Stories

Service Industry Stories and More Since 2012

Generation Passport

World Mix Magazine (click title for home)

maggiesonebuttkitchen

Passionate about cooking and baking and love to share.

Dinner of Herbs

Love for healthier foods.

Currydemonology

Curry Coz you can !

A Wondering Minstrel I

I'm wandering from topic to topic and wondering what on earth I am doing.

The IDEA Bucket

Brings you the latest brew

Sufey

Inhale Joy, Exhale Gratitude

LOVE-the secret ingredient

Like to cook? Like to eat? Be a part of the conversation.

The Modern Home Kitchen

Inspiring the Way You Cook

transcendingbordersblog

A TWINKLING STAR- BRINGING A DASH OF HOPE, INSPIRATION AND LOVE IN YOUR EVERY DAY LIFE!

petit4chocolatier

food, writing, life, and other things in-between

Victor Travel Blog

An illustrated travel magazine by Victor Tribunsky.

Tranquil Dreams

Watching Reading Cooking, Travelling

roughseasinthemed

Living in Gib and Spain

Every picture tells one

Just not another photoblog

DENTIST CHEF

Dentist chef, just a dentistry student who practice the dentist's cooking recipes in a dentist's kitchen

Healing Pilgrim

Stories & images about travel, healing & life

Chilli Marmalade

Adventures inside and outside my kitchen

A Word in Your Ear

Stories and Photographs of my travels, Tales of friends, family, animals and my life

en quête de saveur

a flavor quest

peepsew

I like my artsy with a little bit of fartsy

kizzylee

carpe diem?

Piseth's Diary | Freedom of sharing!

Sharing what I've learned and learning what is shared!

Without an H

Photography from south-east Asia by Jon Sanwell

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

Good Clean Food

Living Deliciously Well

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

frugalfeeding | Low Budget Family Recipes, UK Food Blog

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

the lemurs are hungry

in search of deliciousness from Malaysia to Mexico

