Running to Thmey Village….and getting drunk on rice wine:-)

Two days ago I went running and ended up in the ‘Thmey Village’. Not that far from where I live, but haven’t a clue about the distance. ran in a direction I hadn’t before. I’m usually reluctant to photograph people because I feel shy to ask and I don’t like photos where people make their ‘photograph face’. I like pictures of people naturally how they are. As I was taking pictures a group of Khmer men called to me to come over. So I did. I asked their permission and then took pictures of them. They invited me to sit with them and offered me a glass of what looked like water. It was a strong alcoholic spirit. Boy, I was running to recover from and release the toxins from the drinking session the night before. And of course one drink led to another. My Khmer is now good enough to build sentences and make light conversation. The men were very friendly and offered me food and then what I think was rice wine. All home brewed of course. Before I knew it many hours had passed and running further was out of the question. But drinking and smoking was in!🙂

It rained relentlessly at some point as it does everyday at the moment being the rainy season! Eventually the rain died down and a man drove me close to my home on his moped (for a little more than the local price).

I’ve never gone out running before and come a home drunk! I might run to that village/place again🙂

Wooden house on stilts. The stilts are a necessity considering that it flood here every year. Bit like Bangladesh really!!
Their rice truck machine thing!
Stir the unhusked rice to dry in the sun.
My new found Khmer friends!!
Me with my big nose…the Cambodians love it!! They all have small ones. Amazing that I’m in a part of the world where people love that which I hated about myself during my childhood for all the abuse I got at school🙂
Unlike in London,I don’t mind the rain and thunderstorms at all here! Maybe ‘cos the temperature is cooler and more bearable then?
Travelling, moving often and living in different places has SOOOO opened my mind when I thought I had an open mind before! How little I need and want! How simple it is to be happy. How appreciative I’ve become. Smiles and happiness are contagious! Surrounded by it I see the world, people and my life in a different light. 
I also want to say to people who come here and see poverty and are heart-broken by it. Yes the children do work here and many do not go to school. But it’s a different life and world out here. Who are we to judge with our western beliefs, values and way of thinking? Most of the people I’ve met here smile, give and share from their hearts whatever little they have, be it food, drink or their homes. How often have you encountered that in rich modernised countries and cities? How many people smile at you for no reason?
I’ve collapsed twice in the last two months at different markets from being ill. Both times I had a load of Cambodians fanning cold air, bringing me water, massaging me and rubbing tiger balm onto my neck and forehead. They were so heart-warmingly helpful, arranging for me to get home or to a hospital. How many people walk past someone in need in London or berlin that I’ve seen? ‘Oh, just another drunk’ or ‘someone else will do it’ or simply ‘don’t care!’ This is what is heart-breaking for me-what little compassion people have bogged down with jobs and worries and the so called fast lane of life….fast lane to what? Only to the grave unfortunately!
Thank you once again for looking by my blog and I welcome and appreciate your comments and experiences! Blogging has opened a new door of possibilities for as has travelling :-) 
Categories: About me, Cambodia, Home & Travel, Photography, Running | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Running to Thmey Village….and getting drunk on rice wine:-)

  1. mrsdeboots

    I just loved reading this and living vicariously through you! And what a poignant thought, who are we to judge with our western views…you are absolutely right! How simple it truly is to be happy…that’s a lovely thought for my day.

    It’s so wonderful to be able to see this beautiful land in all its simple wonder and to read of a run, something I wound never do unless someone was chasing me with a weapon, that turned into such a fantastic adventure for you.

    I love it.

    • Thank you! I’m glad you enjoyed it! I’m full of ‘opinions’ about things I see and am bursting to part with it on my blog! Already so behind with my recipes. This blog is more than full time. How do people do it with jobs and kids?? Due respect!!!!

      I’m scared shitless of the ocean!! Waist or even neck high and no waves preferably!! Oh and I wanna see the bottom and it should be sandy🙂 What a wimp!!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Natalia Maks

Travel. See. Shoot. Learn.

peacetrailing

weltfrieden, weltfriedensinstallation, ruhe, liebe, frieden, freiheit, mutter erde,

~ Goat Track Photography ~

Ian G. Fraser, Brisbane, Australia

Kulturstudio

Wenn die Macht der Liebe die Liebe zur Macht übersteigt, erst dann wird die Welt endlich wissen, was Frieden heißt.

Whitbits Kitchen

A Multicultural Food Blog

2012 The Awakening

A resource for all souls on the journey toward building a New Earth!!

Mu Sochua: MP & Human Rights Advocate

Prioritizing women’s issues in Cambodia

Brain Study

Learning about the brain, body and how it all connects

Poetry&Words at Glastonbury Festival

The only stage dedicated to poetry at Glastonbury Festival

Diary of a refugee mother

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

thelittleloaf

Homemade Memories

My Food Religion

Pure Unadulterated Food. Food for the body and the soul. Food that makes you feel good from the inside out.

The High Heel Gourmet

Authentic Thai Dishes Reimagined for the American Palate

Good Clean Food

Living Deliciously Well

Homemade with Mess

who wants life to be tidy when you can have more fun making a mess??!

Break Room Stories

Service Industry Stories and More Since 2012

Generation Passport

World Mix Magazine (click title for home)

maggiesonebuttkitchen

Passionate about cooking and baking and love to share.

Dinner of Herbs

Love for healthier foods.

Currydemonology

Curry Coz you can !

A Wondering Minstrel I

I'm wandering from topic to topic and wondering what on earth I am doing.

The IDEA Bucket

Brings you the latest brew

Sufey

Inhale Joy, Exhale Gratitude

LOVE-the secret ingredient

Like to cook? Like to eat? Be a part of the conversation.

The Modern Home Kitchen

Inspiring the Way You Cook

transcendingbordersblog

A TWINKLING STAR- BRINGING A DASH OF HOPE, INSPIRATION AND LOVE IN YOUR EVERY DAY LIFE!

petit4chocolatier

food, writing, life, and other things in-between

Victor Travel Blog

An illustrated travel magazine by Victor Tribunsky.

Tranquil Dreams

寧靜的夢

roughseasinthemed

Living in Gib and Spain

Every picture tells one

Just not another photoblog

DENTIST CHEF

Dentist chef, just a dentistry student who practice the dentist's cooking recipes in a dentist's kitchen

Healing Pilgrim

Stories & images about travel, healing & life

Chilli Marmalade

Adventures inside and outside my kitchen

A Word in Your Ear

Stories and Photographs of my travels, Tales of friends, family, animals and my life

en quête de saveur

a flavor quest

peepsew

I like my artsy with a little bit of fartsy

kizzylee

carpe diem?

Piseth's Diary | Freedom of sharing!

Sharing what I've learned and learning what is shared!

Without an H

Photography from south-east Asia by Jon Sanwell

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

Good Clean Food

Living Deliciously Well

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

frugalfeeding | Low Budget Family Recipes, UK Food Blog

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

the lemurs are hungry

in search of deliciousness from Malaysia to Mexico

