Love with some Dire Consequences

The title doesn’t really describe what I’m about to write but I like it and it sounds sort of tragic like Shakespeare (I have no literary patience or adoration for him after having to write bloody essays on Hamlet….or was it Romeo and Juliet??;  for my GCSE’s-British final exams at the age of 16).

As always love is complicated…oh, did I mention that already in my last post a week or so back?? It’s amazing how I manage to have discussions and even arguments about the same F****** issues as in 3 out of 4 of my last relationships; all this in a language that is new and was very alien to me just 6 months back. My command of the language probably hardly surpasses a couple of hundred words but it REALLY is amazing that we can communicate issues of dire importance to our being who we are, what we think, like, dislike and even our past relationships.

One of the points of discussion (and frustration for me)…..is “who’s gonna cook today?”

I know this sounds really silly (and funny coming from someone who loves to cook) but just because I’ve been a single father for 5 years having my daughter with me 3 days in the week-being able to work, do the household shopping, cook, clean, take care and make time for my daughter, I hate even having the remote feeling of being taken advantage of. This is not an argument or challenge against any single mothers out there who do this everyday with more than one child where the b******* fathers have run off with their d*** squeezed tightly between their legs being a total p**** about taking any responsibility of the fact that it was 50% their act  which resulted in the miraculous event of a child being born!  And worse still not a penny comes out of their pockets either.

I am definitely not a model father and least of all lover / partner and am totally guilty of many bastardly deeds that fall under the category of “men” (…and no I do not hit women…or anyone actually, but I do get angry and can get loud…..and gleefully squish and drown ants in the hundreds that invade my kitchen and food)!

I mention all this because I was getting really miffed at the fact of being the one doing all the cooking, cleaning, washing, shopping etc, etc. Since we’ve suddenly gotten serious about our relationship she’s here most of the time (and that takes getting used to from a semi-permanent single-ite…..I just made that word up and it describes me perfectly) she can’t treat it like a hotel as before. As a casual relationship I don’t mind doing all the housework etc. etc. because it’s not everyday. Now it’s different. She goes on about the fact of some Cambodian men that sit at home and drink beer while their women and children go to work all day for the money they drink every evening. I know I’m not working at the moment but I’ve got an income that supports her too and blatantly said she’s no different at the moment. She comes round, eats, drinks beer, sleeps and then leaves when she feels like it whilst hardly doing housework voluntarily. Already a great deal has changed. She’s definitely doing her part now.

Back to the cooking problem: Out of the number of times I’ve cooked I noticed after my hours of loving laboring in my kitchen for my new love-she eats the simplest veggie dish, and at most tries 1 piece of meat or fish from the main dish and just eats rice. I realize that being Khmer, she’s used to mostly this food and I am making huge efforts to learn slowly about their dishes and cooking styles, but I can’t help but feel a little defeated about the fact she won’t even try (not one tiny spoonful) of my main dishes. If I’m lucky, she tries, says it’s delicious and then goes back to the simple veggie dish. The other alternative is she cooks a quick veggie dish herself and eats just that.

So, I blew my top a few days ago. “If you don’t like what I cook-then YOU COOK and show me what you like and how you do it!!” Sounds simple enough with a simple enough solution! I mean I really want to learn to cook Khmer food and not from the internet-but from how they cook here at home!! That’s what I want to learn to be able to do. I know they have many strange dishes some of which look and smell weird that I haven’t tried yet (we have many Bengali dishes that fit into this description). But I’m open! I want to learn to cook the dishes that most would run a mile from (see my next post!! :-))!

She said she’s scared I won’t like what she cooks. I’m no stranger to Cambodian food and definitely have a preference to the Asian culinary world compared to the European (except Italian). And just because I spend hours in the kitchen I in no way expect that from some else. In fact an omelette with rice tastes amazing when cooked by a loved one on a hungry stomach (I talked about the cook’s love going into the food in some earlier post). 

Anyway, I’m learning once again to be in a relationship. Knowing the fact that sooner or later I’ll have to leave and go back to Europe-God knows for how long. But I will have to earn money again whilst seeing my daughter, family and friends. And I know me. I plan to come back here to live because I love it, but who knows what will happen along the way. I’m very clear about this to her. And that’s what’s in a way dire about our relationship. I don’t expect it to last because I don’t expect to stay here (in one country) for that long (as in my last 4 relationships). We shall see! We are both head over heels in love at the moment (with the harsh touch of reality) and it’s wonderful beyond description.

Categories: About me, Love & Relationships, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Love with some Dire Consequences

  1. Awwww…the beginning of love, hearts pounding when your eyes meet, I love the first stages of love.

    I also LOVE TO COOK! However, I do see your dilemma…but have you tried some simple veggie dishes for her, perhaps maybe just a simple quick stir fry? Maybe she is not a big meat eater. It seems you like exotic meats, but she may not.

    Here is what I feel that SHE feels:

    She is nervous about cooking for you because you are such a wonderful and talented chef.
    I would feel most embarassed to cook for such a chef, nothing I could cook could ever taste good to such a culinary artist…she most likely feels the same, but is afraid to humble herself to say so…

    Congrats on the new love, even though a short while…enjoy it.

    Are you sure it’s love and not just lust?

    Just asking, even though none of my business. Give you something to think about.

    Wink Wink

    Liz

    • She doesn’t eat much meat. And I’m doing my best to learn what she likes. She’s very suspicious about my food.
      It is definitely love. Just not the same as 20 years ago. My feet are on the ground and my head mostly on my shoulders rather than in the clouds. Lust and an unimaginable amount of passion is there. But I won’t do anything and everything for her like I would’ve for my love 20 years ago. Thank you for your kind thoughtful thoughts!!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Natalia Maks

Travel. See. Shoot. Learn.

peacetrailing

weltfrieden, weltfriedensinstallation, ruhe, liebe, frieden, freiheit, mutter erde,

~ Goat Track Photography ~

Ian G. Fraser, Brisbane, Australia

Kulturstudio

Wenn die Macht der Liebe die Liebe zur Macht übersteigt, erst dann wird die Welt endlich wissen, was Frieden heißt.

Whitbits Kitchen

A Multicultural Food Blog

2012 The Awakening

A resource for all souls on the journey toward building a New Earth!!

Mu Sochua: MP & Human Rights Advocate

Prioritizing women’s issues in Cambodia

Brain Study

Learning about the brain, body and how it all connects

Poetry&Words at Glastonbury Festival

The only stage dedicated to poetry at Glastonbury Festival

Diary of a refugee mother

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

thelittleloaf

Homemade Memories

My Food Religion

Pure Unadulterated Food. Food for the body and the soul. Food that makes you feel good from the inside out.

The High Heel Gourmet

Authentic Thai Dishes Reimagined for the American Palate

Good Clean Food

Living Deliciously Well

Homemade with Mess

who wants life to be tidy when you can have more fun making a mess??!

Break Room Stories

Service Industry Stories and More Since 2012

Generation Passport

World Mix Magazine (click title for home)

maggiesonebuttkitchen

Passionate about cooking and baking and love to share.

Dinner of Herbs

Love for healthier foods.

Currydemonology

Curry Coz you can !

A Wondering Minstrel I

I'm wandering from topic to topic and wondering what on earth I am doing.

The IDEA Bucket

Brings you the latest brew

Sufey

Inhale Joy, Exhale Gratitude

LOVE-the secret ingredient

Like to cook? Like to eat? Be a part of the conversation.

The Modern Home Kitchen

Inspiring the Way You Cook

transcendingbordersblog

A TWINKLING STAR- BRINGING A DASH OF HOPE, INSPIRATION AND LOVE IN YOUR EVERY DAY LIFE!

petit4chocolatier

food, writing, life, and other things in-between

Victor Travel Blog

An illustrated travel magazine by Victor Tribunsky.

Tranquil Dreams

寧靜的夢

roughseasinthemed

Living in Gib and Spain

Every picture tells one

Just not another photoblog

DENTIST CHEF

Dentist chef, just a dentistry student who practice the dentist's cooking recipes in a dentist's kitchen

Healing Pilgrim

Stories & images about travel, healing & life

Chilli Marmalade

Adventures inside and outside my kitchen

A Word in Your Ear

Stories and Photographs of my travels, Tales of friends, family, animals and my life

en quête de saveur

a flavor quest

peepsew

I like my artsy with a little bit of fartsy

kizzylee

carpe diem?

Piseth's Diary | Freedom of sharing!

Sharing what I've learned and learning what is shared!

Without an H

Photography from south-east Asia by Jon Sanwell

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

Good Clean Food

Living Deliciously Well

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

frugalfeeding | Low Budget Family Recipes, UK Food Blog

n. frugality; the quality of being economical with money or food.

the lemurs are hungry

in search of deliciousness from Malaysia to Mexico

